ASEAN Community

The ASEAN Vision 2020, adopted by ASEAN leaders on the 30th anniversary of ASEAN’s establishment, agreed on a shared vision of ASEAN as a concert of Southeast Asian nations that is outward looking, and living in peace, stability and prosperity as development partners within a community of caring societies.

At the 9th ASEAN Summit in 2003, ASEAN leaders resolved that an ASEAN Community shall be established. At the 12th ASEAN Summit in 2007, the leaders subsequently affirmed their strong commitment to accelerate the establishment of an ASEAN Community by 2015 and signed the Cebu Declaration on the Acceleration of the Establishment of an ASEAN Community by 2015.

The ASEAN Community comprises three pillars, namely, the ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC), ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC). 

Each pillar has its own blueprint, and together with the Initiative for ASEAN Integration (IAI) Strategic Framework and IAI Work Plan Phase II (2009-2015), forms the Roadmap for an ASEAN Community 2009-2015.