ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC)

The ASEAN Political-Security Community has its origins in over four decades of close cooperation and solidarity. 

At the 13th ASEAN Summit in Singapore, ASEAN heads of states/governments signed the ASEAN Charter, which marked ASEAN member states’ commitment towards intensifying community building through enhanced regional cooperation and integration. In line with this, they tasked their ministers and officials to draft the APSC Blueprint, which would be adopted at the 14th ASEAN Summit.

The APSC Blueprint is guided by the ASEAN Charter and the principles and purposes contained therein. The APSC Blueprint builds on the ASEAN Security Community Plan of Action, the Vientiane Action Programme (VAP), as well as relevant decisions by various ASEAN sectoral bodies. 

The ASEAN Security Community Plan of Action is a principled document that sets out the activities needed to realise the objectives of the ASEAN Political-Security Community, while the VAP sets out the measures necessary for 2004-2010. These two documents are important references in continued political and security cooperation. 

The APSC Blueprint provides a roadmap and timetable to establish the APSC by 2015. This Blueprint would also have the flexibility to continue programmes and activities beyond 2015 in order to retain its significance and have an enduring quality.